Pictures at last!

Thought you might enjoyed some pictures! Thank you to those of you who have been praying for me, btw. This is definitely a challenging experience and I am learning a lot. God is growing me in prayer and humility, and I’ve been able to look at things logically and not just through the lens of emotion. I am starting to get used to the rhythm of life here , but loneliness is still often present. My stomach issues have worsened, as something (I’m not sure what) triggered my irritable bowel syndrome- so prayer against stomach pain and diarrhea would be much appreciated.

The weather has been unseasonably hot (“Gdau” in Khmer), and we take nice long breaks on the farm haha. My favorite task is picking tomatoes, and since I live on the property I am “on call” at any point to pick for people who stop by to buy a few kilos. It’s been fun to meet different people, even if we can’t talk much. The lack of organization here is still frustrating, and it’s hard to know what to do or to suggest things when the language is a struggle.

Whenever I feel sad or discouraged, I find the orphans and we have a great time doing crafts, terrorizing the puppy, watching the pet python devour chickens, and playing games! They are a great source of encouragement and joy for me.  All of them lost their parents to AIDS, and they have their difficult moments and off days too. It breaks my heart to watch some of them struggle with depression at times, as I can understand what that feels like. But I am encouraged to see how many understand Gods love for them- the “church” here is made up entirely of the orphans and a few staff! Once they reach adulthood I pray that they will be a strong witness to whoever they work alongside. I am thankful for their sweet house mom (woman in photo at top of blog) and dad who truly treat them like family in this culture where family IS your identity.

I’m also super thankful for Steve (man in photo at top) and Rene, an older couple who are here volunteering. They have validated so many of my struggles and have helped me figure out how things work here. Together with my two roommates, we all cheer each other up and remind each other to be gracious and loving to those in charge. Steve got us all roses for Valentine’s Day, and Rene and I get a good laugh at the English joke books.

Well it looks like lunch is over, so back into the heat for me. Thank you again so much for your prayers.

2 thoughts on “Pictures at last!

  1. Hi Anna, Thank you for your e-mails and pictures. I am sorry not to be talking back! I have been reading your notes and praying for you though. I love you so much and am sad that it has been so hard. It sounds like you have a great attitude about it though – that this is a stretching time for God to grow you. And even when you feel like you fail, we know that God is still at work doing His will in you and in those around you. He really doesn’t depend on our “goodness” so very much at all. I guess that’s where the humility (and grace of God) part comes in :-). I will keep praying for you and that His love will be so real and comforting in all of this. Keep us posted please!! Love, Auntie Susan

    On Sun, Feb 14, 2016 at 10:04 PM, Growing Joy in Jumpah wrote:

    > ansbanans1 posted: ” Thought you might enjoyed some pictures! Thank you to > those of you who have been praying for me, btw. This is definitely a > challenging experience and I am learning a lot. God is growing me in prayer > and humility, and I’ve been able to look at things log” >

Leave a Reply

